Education Prize Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

History: After being discussed for a number of months, the AAS Education Prize was established by the AAS Council in the autumn of 2000.

Members: The Education Prize Committee shall be composed of six members, including a Chair.

Term: The terms shall be staggered, of three years duration, and running from January to January Board of Trustees meetings.

Chair: Appointed by the Board of Trustees. Serves a one year term from one January Board meeting to the following January Board meeting.

Charge: Select the winner of the AAS Education Prize from the pool of nominees.

"The AAS Education Prize is to recognize outstanding contributions to the education of the public, of students, and/or of the next generation of professional astronomers."

Committee Chair

Committee Members

Andrew Fraknoi

Fromm Inst./U of San Francisco

Term: Jan 2020 – Jun 2023

Kristina Marie Punzi (She/Her/Hers)

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Tjitske Starkenburg (She/Her/Hers)

Northwestern University

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Olugbenga Akin Ige

Bergen Community College

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Marc Seigar (He/Him/His)

University of Toledo

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Jason Young (He/Him/His)

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Term: Jan 2020 – Jun 2023