20 April 2023

AAS Members Elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

This post is adapted from an American Academy of Arts & Sciences press release:

American Academy of Arts & SciencesThe American Academy of Arts & Sciences, based in Cambridge, Massachusetts, has announced the election of 269 new members. Among the astronomers and astrophysicists in the class of 2023 are four AAS members:

  1. Luis Chi Ho (Peking University)
  2. Priyamvada Natarajan (Yale University)
  3. Keivan Stassun (Vanderbilt University)
  4. Risa Wechsler (Stanford University)

In 1780, the Academy’s founders — including John Adams and John Hancock — envisioned an organization that would recognize accomplished individuals and engage them in addressing the greatest challenges facing the young nation. The first members elected to the Academy in 1781 included Benjamin Franklin and George Washington.

Today, the Academy continues to be both an honorary society, electing new members from the nonprofit, private, and public sectors, and an independent policy organization with initiatives in the arts, democracy, education, global affairs, and science.

When announcing this year’s new members, Academy President David W. Oxtoby said, “With the election of these members, the Academy is honoring excellence, innovation, and leadership and recognizing a broad array of stellar accomplishments. We hope every new member celebrates this achievement and joins our work advancing the common good.”

The AAS congratulates Drs. Ho, Natarajan, Stassun, and Wechsler!

Note: If you're a new AAAS member and are missing from this list, please email us and we'll remedy the omission!