Demographics Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

History: Established 2010.

Members: Appointed by the AAS President


Charge: Determine what demographic data are useful to collect and maintain about the AAS membership and prepare analysis and reports to the Board of Trustees on such data as necessary. The committee will help develop their strategy in consultation with the AAS Membership Director; the first step is to review what demographic data already exist in the AAS membership database and its completeness.


Board of Trustees Liaison

Jane R. Rigby (She/Her/Hers)

NASA Goddard
Board Liaison

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

Committee Co-Chairs

Joy S. Nichols

Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2024

Member, June 2021 - June 2023

Lee Anne M. Willson (She/Her/Hers)

Iowa State University

Term: Jun 2021 – Dec 2023

Committee Members

Eric M. Schlegel

University of Texas, San Antonio

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

Derek L. Buzasi

Florida Gulf Coast University

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

Rachel Ivie

American Institute of Physics

Term: Jun 2018 – Jun 2024

Sabrina Stierwalt (She/Her/Hers)

Occidental College

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2024

Katy Rodriguez Wimberly (She/Her/Hers)

California State University, San Bernardino

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2024